News
News Categories

You can delete WhatsApp messages sent to the wrong person or group chat soon

By Cookie Monster - on 28 Oct 2017, 12:53pm

You can delete WhatsApp messages sent to the wrong person or group chat soon

Have you ever sent a wrong message to a friend or group chat on WhatsApp? These embarrassing mistakes will be history soon as WhatsApp is rolling out a feature which allows you to delete specific messages in a chat within seven minutes. 

Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with "This message was deleted" in your recipients' chats (*). Similarly, if you see "This message was deleted" in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone. 

The option to delete message can be accessed by tapping and holding the message > choose delete from the menu. You also can select multiple messages to delete at once. For this feature to work, everyone in the group chat or the recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp on Android, iPhone or Windows Phone. 

Source: WhatsApp via TechCrunch 

Join HWZ's Telegram channel here and catch all the latest tech news!
Our articles may contain affiliate links. If you buy through these links, we may earn a small commission.