Obsessed with technology?
Subscribe to the latest tech news as well as exciting promotions from us and our partners!
By subscribing, you indicate that you have read & understood the SPH's Privacy Policy and PDPA Statement.
News
News Categories

macOS Monterey will let users erase their Macs without needing a full reinstall

By Kenny Yeo - on 11 Jun 2021, 9:35am

macOS Monterey will let users erase their Macs without needing a full reinstall

(Image source: Apple)

The developer beta of macOS Monterey is out in the wild now and we are discovering new features every day.

And one of the most interesting features that have been uncovered is the ability to erase your Mac without requiring a full reinstall.

According to users who have been playing around with the developer beta, there’s an “Erase All Content and Settings” option in macOS Monterey – just like in iOS and iPadOS.

And if we look closely at the macOS Monterey features page on Apple, it says right there:

Erase all contents and settings
System Preferences now offers an option to erase all user data and user-installed apps from the system, while maintaining the operating system currently installed. Because storage is always encrypted on Mac systems with Apple silicon or the T2 chip, the system is instantly and securely “erased” by destroying the encryption keys.

For users who want to restore their Mac to factory settings, this new feature will save them a lot of time.

Right now, erasing a Mac requires you to go into macOS Recovery, formatting the startup disk with Disk Utility, and then reinstalling macOS. This new option will make things a lot quicker and simpler.

Source: MacRumors, Apple

Join HWZ's Telegram channel here and catch all the latest tech news!
Our articles may contain affiliate links. If you buy through these links, we may earn a small commission.