Obsessed with technology?
Subscribe to the latest tech news as well as exciting promotions from us and our partners!
By subscribing, you indicate that you have read & understood the SPH's Privacy Policy and PDPA Statement.
News
News Categories

iOS 14 allows users to give apps access to selected photos

By Cookie Monster - on 25 Jun 2020, 12:00am

iOS 14 allows users to give apps access to selected photos

Image source: @benedictevans

iOS 14 is introducing a new app permission feature to enhance user privacy. 

Spotted by @benedictevans in iOS 14 beta, users can choose from three options (Select photos..., allow access to all photos, or Don't Allow) whenever an app requests access to photos on the device.

The new privacy control lets you decide what photos and videos to share when an app asks for access permission. iOS users currently have to decide between denying or giving access to all photos.

Other new privacy features in iOS 14 include the option to give an app your approximate location, an easy-to-read list of privacy details for every app in the App Store, clipboard restrictions to prevent apps that do not need the information from accessing it, a system notification if a password in iCloud Keychain has been compromised, and microphone and camera notifications to let users know when an app is accessing the microphone or camera.

Source: @benedictevans via MacRumours