Obsessed with technology?
Subscribe to the latest tech news as well as exciting promotions from us and our partners!
By subscribing, you indicate that you have read & understood the SPH's Privacy Policy and PDPA Statement.
News
News Categories

Have you ever wanted to cancel a sent email? Gmail's Undo Send is the answer

By Salehuddin Bin Husin - on 24 Jun 2015, 12:04pm

Have you ever wanted to cancel a sent email? Gmail's Undo Send is the answer

The universal action after sending a stupid email. 

We've all done it before. Sending that ill-advised, ill-timed email.Whether it's to a loved one, to friends or just to colleagues, everybody has at least sent one email they wished they could cancel right after they clicked the 'Send' button.

While there's no time machine to erase the mistakes of stupid emails sent in the past, there is now a way to cancel a recently sent email, if you're within a specific window of time.

Google's introduced the Undo Send feature on its Gmail service, which means that if you're using Gmail, you can now send emails without worry. Cancellation is just a button click away.

It's already turned on by default for users of Google Labs but for general users, the feature will gradually roll out over the coming weeks. We're not in Google Labs but it's already available for us now, so you might need to check your own Gmail account to see if yours is up and running.

You can do that by going in the Settings page. Under the General tab in the Settings page, scroll down till you get to the Undo Send section. If you don't have it, then Google hasn't activated it for your account yet.

The crucial box you need to tick.

You need to tick that box and set the time period which you can undo emails. We recommend 30 seconds (the longest available option), which gives you more than enough time to ponder whether you really want to send that email or not. Make sure to save your selection before you go back to your Gmail Inbox or the setting will not be saved.

Once you've turned on the Undo Send function, you can try it out by sending a trial email to yourself. Type anything you want and then send.

Your last chance to avoid explaining that email you sent.

A notification will pop up at the top of your screen once you've sent the mail (like usual) but there's now an Undo button at the end of it. If you decide to cancel your mail for whatever reason, it's that Undo button that you'll need to click to make sure your email is cancelled.

Now you can send email without fear. Just be remember not to close the browser immediately after sending.

Source: Google

Loading...