Obsessed with technology?
Subscribe to the latest tech news as well as exciting promotions from us and our partners!
By subscribing, you indicate that you have read & understood the SPH's Privacy Policy and PDPA Statement.
News
News Categories

Deleting Facebook will cause you to lose all your Oculus games forever

By Tim Augustin - on 26 Oct 2020, 5:38pm

Deleting Facebook will cause you to lose all your Oculus games forever

Image: Oculus

Owners of an Oculus VR headset might not want to delete or deactivate their Facebook accounts… ever. 

Back in August, Oculus announced that users will need a Facebook account to retain full device functionality. Now, users have discovered that deleting Facebook will cause them to lose all of their VR games, purchases and progress for good. 

If you try to delete your Facebook account after linking it with Oculus, you’ll get the following message:

Deleting your Facebook account will also delete your Oculus information. This includes your app purchases and achievements. You will no longer be able to return any apps and will lose any existing store credits.

You can deactivate your Facebook account instead of deleting it permanently, but you’ll still lose access to all of your Oculus products and game data. Thankfully, this can still be reversed by reactivating the account. Deleting your Facebook account cannot be reversed however, so you’ll have to keep one active as long as you want to keep your Oculus games. Making another new account will not get your old games back. 

According to Upload VR, owners of older Oculus headsets won’t have to link a Facebook account to their device until 2023. At that point, Oculus will end support for Oculus accounts, and users will be forced to switch to Facebook.

It’s a real shame that Facebook is forcing their grubby little hands into Oculus users’ data, especially since Oculus has proven to be one of the most impressive VR platforms on the market today. If you want to own their products however, you’d better be happy with keeping your Facebook account active forever.