HTCSense.com Cloud Sync Services Shutting Down


HTCSense.com Cloud Sync Services Shutting Down

HTC users, we've got some bad news for you - if you've been using HTCSense.com to synchronize your contacts and call history to the cloud, the service will be shutting down in lieu of a revamp.

The cloud service, which was launched in 2010, also lets users locate their phones remotely, and under extreme situations, wipe the phone to safeguard the data within. HTCSense.com also allows users to access their contacts, text messages and call history from a PC browser.

Some might say it was a knee-jerk reaction to the cloud services offered by competitors such as Apple's MobileMe, which has since been phased out in favor of iCloud. In truth, HTC isn't the only company that adopted the cloud route, and decided to take it down. Nokia's Ovi Share, which lets users upload content such as images and videos from their phones to the cloud, is also shutting down, being "part of Nokia's revised services mission to focus on mobile and location based services".

HTCSense.com is still here to stay. A post by HTC on HTCSense.com states that the services are suspended in preparation for a product revamp to "improve the services and value we deliver to customers". From now till April 30th, users can download their data by following these instructions:

  • Visit http://htcsense.com
     
  • Log in with your HTCSense.com username and password
     
  • Click the 'Download' button in the Account Overview section
     
  • A .zip file containing your data will download to your computer for easy viewing

HTC has also directed its users to the newly renamed Google Play Store to download apps that perform similar remote location and backup options for their HTC devices. For now, there's no word on what the product revamp will bring.

Source: HTC via The Verge

All News Categories

News for Past 12 Months

Subscribe to HWZ Here!

Subscribe now to receive latest tech news, articles and promotions straight to your inbox!
 
 
By signing up, you indicate that you have read and agreed to the and .